Skip to content

Deadline Approaching in Texas for SBA Working Capital Loans Due to Excessive Heat

SACRAMENTO, Calif. (Aug. 14, 2023) – Director Tanya N. Garfield of the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West today reminded small nonfarm businesses in 194 Texas counties and neighboring counties in New Mexico and Oklahoma of the Sept.13, 2023, deadline to apply for an SBA federal disaster loan for economic injury. These low-interest loans are to offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by excessive heat in the following primary counties that occurred May 1 – Sept. 30, 2022.

Primary Texas counties:  Anderson, Aransas, Armstrong, Austin, Baylor, Bee, Bexar, Brazos, Briscoe, Burleson, Calhoun, Carson, Castro, Chambers, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Collin, Colorado, Concho, Cooke, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Denton, Dewitt, Duval, Ector, Ellis, Fannin, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Glasscock, Gray, Grayson, Grimes, Hansford, Hardeman, Hardin, Harris, Haskell, Hemphill, Hill, Houston, Howard, Hutchinson, Jack, Jackson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lamar, Lamb, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Lynn, Madison, Martin, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Midland, Mitchell, Montgomery, Navarro, Nueces, Oldham, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Robertson, San Patricio, Schleicher, Scurry, Sterling, Stonewall, Sutton, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Val Verde, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Webb, Wharton, Wheeler, Wilbarger, Yoakum and Young;

Neighboring Texas counties:  Andrews, Angelina, Archer, Atascosa, Bailey, Bandera, Borden, Bosque, Brazoria, Brooks, Cherokee, Coleman, Collingsworth, Comal, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Crosby, Dallas, Delta, Dickens, Dimmit, Donley, Edwards, Falls, Fayette, Fisher, Fort Bend, Franklin, Freestone, Frio, Galveston, Garza, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hale, Hall, Hartley, Henderson, Hockley, Hunt, Irion, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Johnson, Jones, Kaufman, Kendall, Kenedy, Kent, Kimble, King, Kinney, Knox, La Salle, Lavaca, Lee, Limestone, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McCulloch, McLennan, Milam, Montague, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Orange, Palo Pinto, Parker, Parmer, Polk, Reagan, Red River, Refugio, Rockwall, Runnels, San Jacinto, Shackelford, Sherman, Stephens, Swisher, Tarrant, Terrell, Trinity, Tyler, Upton, Uvalde, Ward, Wichita, Wilson, Winkler, Wise, Zapata and Zavala;

Neighboring New Mexico counties:  Curry, Lea, Quay and Roosevelt;

Neighboring Oklahoma counties:  Beckham, Bryan, Choctaw, Cotton, Ellis, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Love, Marshall, Roger Mills, Texas and Tillman.

According to Garfield, small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private nonprofit organizations of any size may apply for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster. “Economic Injury Disaster Loans may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable and other bills that cannot be paid because of the disaster’s impact,” said Garfield.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster. Economic injury assistance is available regardless of whether the applicant suffered any property damage,” Garfield added.

The interest rate is 2.935 percent for businesses and 1.875 percent for private nonprofit organizations with terms up to 30 years. Loan amounts and terms are set by SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition.

By law, SBA makes Economic Injury Disaster Loans available when the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. The Secretary declared this disaster on Jan. 13.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration.

Applicants may apply online, receive additional disaster assistance information and download applications at Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955 or email for more information on SBA disaster assistance. For people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7-1-1 to access telecommunications relay services. Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX  76155.

Recently, U.S. SBA Administrator Isabella Casillas Guzman announced a policy change granting 12 months of no payments and 0% interest. This pertains to all disaster loans approved in response to disasters declared on or after September 21, 2022, through September 30, 2023. This policy change will benefit disaster survivors and help them to decrease the overall cost of recovery by reducing the amount of accrued interest they must repay. Details are available through the SBA Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955. Individuals with verbal or hearing impairments may dial 7‑1‑1 to access telecommunications relay services from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET, Monday to Friday, or email:


About the U.S. Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration helps power the American dream of business ownership. As the only go-to resource and voice for small businesses backed by the strength of the federal government, the SBA empowers entrepreneurs and small business owners with the resources and support they need to start, grow, expand their businesses, or recover from a declared disaster. It delivers services through an extensive network of SBA field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations. To learn more, visit